top of page

About Us

Proudly Serving Utah Since 1920

The Women’s State Legislative Council of Utah was organized in 1920 after the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution, which gave every woman the right to vote. Its purpose then, as now, is to investigate and study state and national issues with a goal of bringing about legislation beneficial to the entire State of Utah.


Our Story

The Women’s Legislative Council has earned the reputation of being a bi-partisan organization, representing no special interest group. The Women’s State Legislative Council’s policy of hearing both sides of issues, weighing the factors involved in solving problems, and taking a stand on legislation has made it a respected organization in Utah.


Membership is open to organizations and individuals. Bi-partisanship is achieved by alternating the leadership of the Council of the two major political parties each biennium. There is also equal political affiliation representation on the Executive Board and the study committees.

Weekly meetings on Wednesday are held during the legislative session beginning in January. The meetings are divided into five legislative study committees. These committees schedule experts to present to the body and to inform both the pro and the con of potential issues and legislation.


Following are the five study committees:

  • Business/Labor/Economic Development/Workforce Services/Public Utilities and Technology

  • Education

  • Energy/Natural Resources/Agriculture and Environment

  • Health and Human Services/Retirement & Independent Entities

  • Judiciary/Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice/Political Subdivisions/ Revenue and Taxation/Transportation/Government Operations


Action on legislation originates from the Legislative Study Committees or the Council floor in the form of resolutions supporting or opposing bills. The resolutions are presented to the delegates at the general session for approval. If they are adopted, they are emailed to each Legislator, as well as the Governor and Lieutenant Governor. Once passed delegates and members may then lobby for the bill’s passage or defeat.


Meet The Executive Team

Elected Executive Committee Members

Legislative Study Committees

Board Members

Directors: Elected

Co-Chairs: Appointed & Approved

Artboard 3.png

Business & Labor

Director: Wendy Garvin



Director: Kendra Seely


Health & Human Services

Director: Ellen Brady


Judiciary, Law & Criminal Justice

Director: Shauna Scott-Bellaccomo


Natural Resources

Director: Kari Malkovich


Board Members

Appointed & Approved

Auditing Chair

Karen Ellingson

Bulletin Editor

Chloe Cleveland


Jennifer Miller-Smith

National Issues Co-Chair

Kendra Seeley

National Issues Co-Chair


Policy Chair

Mikaela Christensen

Public Relations Chair

Lisa Bagley

State Issues Co-Chair


State Issues Co-Chair


Attendance Chair

Gwen Springmeyer

Celebration Chair

Brandy Farmer


Kathryn Gustafson

Physical Arrangements Chair

Bette Voorhees

Physical Arrangements Co-Chair


Sergeant of Arms

Louise Kearl

Timekeeper Chair

Lisa Gallegos


aauw_salt lake.png
bottom of page